Our network

Voters to Decide Runoffs, Bibb School Board Races | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Voters to Decide Runoffs, Bibb School Board Races

Voting continues until 7 p.m. for runoff races across Central Georgia and three school board races.

On the ballot in various counties: congressional races, county races and seats in the Georgia General Assembly.

Bibb County voters will also decide three board of education races, delayed for three weeks due to a lawsuit over district lines.

These are the school board races. All candidates are Democrats.

District 1, Michael McKeever,incumbent Ella Carter, Brenda Sutton
District 2, Angel Davis Hopper, Alan Patrick Taylor, Thelma Dillard.
District 3, Merritt Johnson, incumbent Susan Sipe.

These runoff races are on the Aug. 21 ballot in various counties

Voters in Crawford, Macon, Peach, Dooly and Taylor counties and most of Bibb County will decide a Republican primary in the 2nd congressional district between Rick Allen and John House. The winner will run against incumbent Sanford Bishop.

In Laurens, Wheeler, Telfair and Treutlen counties, people will vote on another Republican primary between Lee Anderson and a different candidate named Rick Allen. The winner challenges incumbent John Barrow.

In Senate District 26, Democrats David Lucas and incumbent Miriam Paris are in a runoff. The district includes Hancock, Washington, Wilkinson, Twiggs and parts of Jones, Bibb and Houston counties.

Other runoffs:

House District 139, Democrats, Thomas Coogle vs. Patty Bentley.

Baldwin County Commission, District 2, Democrats, incumbent Linda Fussell vs, Tommy Lee French.

Dooly County Court Clerk, Democrats, Willie Mae Chaney vs. Betty Colter.

Hancock County Court Clerk, Democrats, LeShauna Reid Jackson vs. Frances Hunt.

Washington County State Court Judge, nonpartisan, John Dana vs. Arthur Walker.

Crawford County Board of Education, District 3, incumbent Tim Johnson vs. Richard Jacobs.

Johnson County sheriff, Democrats, Rusty Oxford vs. Michael Morris.

Taylor County Commission, District 1, Democrats, Cicero Latimore vs. Theodore Goss.

 Telfair County court magistrate, Democrats, incumbent Patsy Padgett vs. Bryan Selph.

 Telfair County commission, District 3, Troy Giddens vs. Wilson Bowen.

 Wheeler County Sheriff, Democrats, Maurice Johnson vs. Tyrone Gillis.

Wilkinson Tax Commissioner, Democrats, Vanessa Fountain vs. Charles Gasaway.

 Check your local board of elections for polling places.




















Hancock Businesses