Our network

Seven OFTC Instructors Nominated for 2012 Rick Perkins Award | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Seven OFTC Instructors Nominated for 2012 Rick Perkins Award
Seven OFTC Instructors Nominated for 2012 Rick Perkins Award

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors the Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

The nominees for Oconee Fall Line Technical College (OFTC) for 2013 are:

· Kevin Corbin, Criminal Justice Instructor
· Brenda Gurr, Medical Assisting Instructor
· David Hall, Machine Tool Technology Instructor
· Laura Layfield, Computer Information Systems Instructor
· Deb Thomsen, Practical Nursing Instructor
· Leslie Thigpen, Practical Nursing Instructor
· Angela Yarbrough, Business Administrative Technology Instructor

Their peers, who recognize their hard work, are honoring these nominees’ dedication and efforts in helping their students become successful,” stated Dessie Hall, coordinator for OFTC’s Rick Perkins program.

Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the award was renamed in honor and memory of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death.

The Technical College System of Georgia provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the system’s office, the college presidents’ Academic Affairs Committee, and the state planning committee.

A screening committee of administrators at OFTC will review each of the nominated instructors and will then conduct personal interviews with the nominees. After the nominees have been ranked; a winner will be chosen to represent the college.

OFTC’s Rick Perkins winner for 2013 will move on to the regional competition. Three finalists from each of the three regions in the state will make up the nine semi-finalists, who will be named in April at the state Rick Perkins conference in Atlanta. The regional finalists will then move to the state level and compete for the title of state Rick Perkins winner.

The instructor named as the state’s Rick Perkins winner will also have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the Technical College System of Georgia.


Hancock Businesses